Skip to Main Content

2023 Healthcare Scholarship Winners Announced

August 3, 2023

One of the rewarding things about being a community hospital is when we get the chance to “give back” to the community.  Our Auxiliary and Medical Staff do that every year through the scholarship programs they created for area students seeking education and careers in healthcare!

This year a total of 13 students earned scholarships worth $1,000 each to be used for their education seeking healthcare careers. Eligible students must be enrolled in hospital-related healthcare fields. 

The Medical Staff awarded scholarships to:

Kennison Adams, Edwardsville

  • University of Missouri- Kansas City
  • Bachelor’s Degree and Doctor of Medicine

Ellery Darr, Edwardsville

  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Nursing Program

Courtney Garrison, Collinsville

  • Maryville University
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Program

Amber Gassmann, Maryville

  • SIUE
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Lily Jurgena, Collinsville

  • SIUE
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Gracy Levin, Alhambra

  • Southwestern Illinois College
  • Health Sciences Nursing Program

Sarah McLaughlin, Maryville

  • SIU School of Medicine
  • Masters of Public Health and Doctor of Medicine

Mackenzie Sievers, New Douglas

  • University of Illinois
  • Doctor of Medicine


The Auxiliary of Anderson Hospital awarded five $1000 scholarships for the 2023/24 academic year. 
Scholarship recipients were honored at an Anderson Hospital Auxiliary dinner on July 31, 2023.


Kennison Adams, Edwardsville

  • University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine
  • Doctor of Medicine; Pediatrics

Jonathan Botterbush, Godfrey

  • SIU-E
  • Doctorate in Pharmacy.


Amber Gassmann, Maryville

  • SIU-E
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing.


Mackenzie Sievers, New Douglas,

  • University of Illinois College of Medicine
  • Doctor of Medicine

Kate Toennies, Albers

  • University of Southern Indiana
  • Occupational Therapist.

Congratulations to our 2023 recipients and best wishes for continued success.



6 of the scholarship winners were presented their scholarships from a group of our Medical Staff leaders on Tuesday, August 1.  Three of the winners also earned the Auxiliary Scholarship including Kennison Adams, Amber Gassmann and Mackenzie Sievers.

Pictured:  Winners, front row, left to right are:  Lily Jurgena, Mackenzie Sievers, Ellery Darr, Gracy Levin, Sara McLaughlin, and Courtney Garrison. 

medicalstaff scholars with logo